Progress!

20110322-104621.jpg

Today is better than yesterday which was better than the day before that!

Confused yet?

For more than a month I don’t think I have had 2 consecutive days of progress, until now!

Sunday did not include more than about 3 hours at a time without a nap. But yesterday was much better than that. I was able to study for and take an exam as well as clean my room! A day like that comes about once a week right now.

Can I describe how happy I am that I feel even better today than I did yesterday? Praise God because the Doxycycline must be working!

Now I still have all the aches and pains and weird symptoms that come with Lyme, but today I have energy and a desire to actually do something besides become better acquainted with my pillow.

There’s a really good chance that tomorrow will involve heavy fatigue and listlessness. That’s how Lyme is. No, my doctor doesn’t know how long it should take or even how much better I will be at the end of all of this. I could be running around at the end of this week or I could be still laid up in bed in 6 months! But really, who in this world actually knows what’s coming tomorrow? This sometimes seems like a huge exercise in trusting God for my ‘daily bread’ as the Lord’s prayer says. I can only ask God for today’s and not tomorrow’s or yesterday’s.

One of my favorite passages is Psalm 118:13-14.
“I was pushed back and about to fall, but the Lord helped me. The Lord is my strength and my defense; he has become my salvation.”

I’m not going to lie and say that it is not gut-wrenchingly hard to go through each day like this. But God’s love is overwhelming, surprising, and above all sufficient to get me through each and every difficult day.

About Rachael Ann

I am a still a teenager but have the body of an elderly person. I have been battling chronic health problems for almost 4 years straight now. I kept saying I wasn't insane and making things up. I was right and it turns out that I have Lyme Disease! This is my way of keeping focused on the positives when the days are long and hard. I don't have all the answers but I keep hope.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

